European Countries begin to ratify Paris Climate Agreement

21st of June, 2016

Three European countries have now ratified the Paris Agreement. Signed in December 2015, the Conference Of the Parties 21 has to be ratified by at least 55 countries representing 55% of the world emissions, to come into effect.

COP21, which is an international agreement about mitigating climate change, has been signed by 177 countries present in Paris, last year. For the agreement to be applied each country has now to ratify the agreement with the authorisation of its government. When the process of ratification is complete it will lead to a collective action to limit the impact of our industrialised ways of life.

Countries have one year to ratify and make this historical agreement a reality. Hungary was the first European country to ratify it, followed by France and Norway, today.

18 countries have ratified the text : Barbados, Belize, Fiji, Grenada, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Nauru, Palau, Palestine, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Somalia, Tuvalu, Hungary, France and Norway. Among them an important number of Island nations which are most vulnerable to the effects of climate change, like Tuvalu, an island that loses more of its land every year.

As the European Union counts as one vote, it is crucial that all governments ratify the text in their countries so that the European Union can take a stand and declare its ratification. Ireland has yet to do so.

About the Author

Marie-Amélie Brun

Marie-Amélie is a contributor to the Green News. She is currently completing a Masters in International Cooperation and Multilingual Communication at the University Grenoble Alpes.

Leave a Comment